You share your feedback with customers in real-time during a Live Conversation. Using your computer or mobile device, you'll use Zoom to connect with the customer. You may have to share your screen, complete tasks, or answer questions.
What are the requirements?
Time: You'll need time to complete a Live Conversation. Please only schedule a session when it's convenient for you. We ask that you don't skip work or miss an appointment to attend a Live Conversation.
Honesty: If a customer reports that you didn't truthfully answer the screeners, you'll automatically receive 1 star, we'll cancel your payment, and we may remove you from the Contributor Network.
An email address: We'll send information and reminders for the Live Conversation to you by email. Please check your email regularly.
Zoom: You'll need to download and install Zoom before your session. You don't need to sign up for an account. If you need help, please review our Zoom FAQ.
A webcam: Some customers may ask you to share your webcam. Please always be ready to share your face. If you don't want to share your webcam, please don't agree to participate in a Live Conversation.
How long will a Live Conversation take?
A Live Conversation will take 30, 60, 90, or 120 minutes. When you sign up for a Live Conversation, you'll see the expected duration of the session on your dashboard. You can also find this information in the confirmation and reminder emails.
You should also plan for an extra 15 minutes to set up before your Live Conversation.
When should I join my Live Conversation?
You should join your Live Conversation at least 15 minutes before your session begins to allow time for troubleshooting and setup. For example, if your Live Conversation begins at 11:00 AM, you should join at 10:45 AM.
Once your Live Conversation is confirmed, you'll receive a reminder email. We recommend adding the event to your calendar to make sure you arrive on time.
How do I join a Live Conversation?
To join a desktop Live Conversation: Click the Join Test button from your dashboard. This button appears 15 minutes before your scheduled start time.
To join a mobile Live Conversation: Tap the Join Interview button in your reminder email. You'll need to complete a setup tutorial before you join the interview. The Join Interview button is only available from this reminder email. You won't be able to join from your dashboard for mobile Live Conversations.
How can I cancel my Live Conversation?
You can use the cancel link on your dashboard at least 24 hours before your scheduled time.
If I cancel a Live Conversation, will it affect my rating?
If you give us proper notice (24 hours or more), canceling a Live Conversation won't affect your rating. However, if you don't join your Live Conversation or if you don't give enough notice, you'll receive an automatic 1-star rating.
Why is UserTesting so strict about cancellations?
Live Conversations take a lot of time and effort to plan. The customer has scheduled time out of their busy day to hear your feedback. If you cancel less than 24 hours before your session, there won't be enough time for the customer to find another contributor.
What should I do if I realize I don't qualify for the study?
Cancel your Live Conversation. If a customer reports that you didn't truthfully answer the screener, you'll automatically receive 1 star, we'll cancel your payment, and you'll no longer receive test invitations.
Who will I talk to when I join?
You'll speak with the customer, but their colleagues might join the session. They may or may not be online when you join, but you should be ready to speak directly with the customer.
When will I see my webcam during a Live Conversation?
Depending on your Zoom settings, your webcam may open as soon as you join the meeting. Before you join the meeting, make sure you don't have anything on camera that you don't want recorded.
TIP: You can update your settings so your webcam is automatically "off" when you join a meeting. Just go to the Video tab of your Preferences or Settings, and select the checkbox next to the option, Turn off my video when joining a meeting.
What will the customer see when I share my screen?
Before accepting a Live Conversation test, you must agree to the following screener:
By participating in a Live Conversation session with a UserTesting customer, you agree to have the session recorded. The recording will include video, voice, and screen recording. The display name you enter before joining the session will be visible during the session, but not recorded. UserTesting's customer will have access to this recording and is authorized to use it internally to obtain feedback on its offerings. You'll need to use your webcam for this session. By continuing, you agree to have this session recorded.
Once you share your screen, the customer can see what's on your primary monitor. This may include your desktop, any icons, and any programs or files you have open. On a mobile device, your screen, open apps, and icons may be visible to the customer.
Before you share your screen, please close any windows with confidential information. You shouldn't reveal any information you don't want included in the recording.
What if I don't show up?
If you don't show up after 10 minutes from the scheduled start time, you'll no longer be able to join the meeting. If you don't show up, you'll receive a 1-star rating and won't collect any payment.
Our customers count on you to attend each Live Conversation. They have set aside time in their calendar and are excited to hear from you. When you don't show up, it's hard to find another contributor in such a short period of time.
If this happens more than once, it could lead to your removal from the Contributor Network.
What if the customer cancels the Live Conversation?
Sometimes, a customer will need to cancel or reschedule a Live Conversation.
If the customer cancels less than 24 hours before the scheduled start time: You'll receive a partial payment for your time and the inconvenience. You can expect your payment usually 14 days after the day you scheduled the Live Conversation.
You'll automatically receive the partial payment. You don't need to worry about contacting Support or taking extra steps to get it.
If the customer provides more than 24 hours' notice: Because the customer gave proper notice, you won't receive payment for the cancelation.
I finished the Live Conversation. Why does my dashboard still say "interview in progress"?
You may see an "interview in progress" message if your Live Conversation ends early. This message should clear your dashboard once the scheduled time has passed.
When will I see the payment for my Live Conversation on my Test History?
Your payment will appear on your Test history usually within 14 days of completing your session.
What payment will I receive for a Live Conversation?
Reward amounts vary depending on the length of the Live Conversation. Check your Test Feed to see the payment amount you'll receive.
How can I earn a high rating for a Live Conversation?
Be available. Please check your inbox regularly in case there are updates. Only sign up for a Live Conversation if you have enough time to participate. Please let our Support Team know if you can't join the session.
Be patient. There may be some technical issues when setting up the Zoom call. This only happens sometimes, but we appreciate your patience and flexibility if it does.
Be honest. A Live Conversation will earn you more money than a standard test. We understand this is exciting, but please don't misrepresent yourself to qualify. Doing so will result in a canceled payment, a 1-star rating, and possible removal from the Contributor Network.
Be prepared. We offer several articles to help you feel confident about your Live Conversation. Please review these resources before your session to make sure you're ready.
Be considerate. Close or hide any sensitive information on your screen. You may consider using an incognito window or an alternate browser to keep your browsing history private.